Strategic Advisory Board

Jennifer Halley

(Board secretary)

Based in the School of International Relations Jennifer Halley is responsible for assisting research and impact duties for both individual academic colleagues and the many research centres of the School. Jenny joins the TGP as Secretary to the advisory Board. Previously she has held a number of administration jobs and graduated with a BA (Hons) in Criminology.

Vivienne Jabri

Vivienne Jabri is Professor of International Politics in the Department of War Studies at King’s College London. Her research centres on violence, war and security practices, and their impact on global and postcolonial political transformations. She is an international political theorist, with contributions to critical, feminist and postcolonial thought. 

Roseanna McPhee

Roseanna T. McPhee is a Scottish Gypsy Traveller who was raised and educated in the Bobbin Mill Tinker Experiment, Pitlochry; part of a covert national programme of racial eugenics. She has carried out extensive voluntary advocacy on behalf of Gypsy Travellers and campaigns for community rights. She is currently a member of the Scottish Human Rights Commission’s Adequate Living Standards Group and is Secretary of RAJPOT.

Rae McGrath

Rae McGrath at eighteen years as a military engineer under his belt, followed by thirty-plus years specialising in designing and managing response to the life-sustaining needs of civilians in wars and natural disasters. He has substantial experience of international advocacy and the post-conflict eradication of landmines and unexploded ordnance.

Kate Smith

(Board Chair)

Kate Smith is an academic, journalist and writer based in Edinburgh, UK. Specialisms include media and politics, human rights (including food security), literary journalism and conflict reporting. She was is a short-term Fellow at the Nieman Foundation for Journalism, Harvard University, 2013-2014. 

Catherine Stihler

Catherine Stihler is CEO of Creative Commens, which helps overcome legal obstacles to the sharing of knowledge and creativity to address the world’s pressing challenges. She was a Member of the European Parliament for Scotland for 20 years, and was awarded an OBE for services to politics in 2019.